During the Board of Trustees meeting on Tuesday, May 21, Dr. Joe Forrester announced his retirement, effective June 30, 2014, after 15 years as president of the College.

Since October 1, 1999, Dr. Forrester has served as President of Community College of Beaver County, making him the College’s longest-tenured president to-date. He functions as the chief executive officer for a community college district serving approximately 10,000 credit and non-credit students annually at the main campus in Monaca, PA, as well as the Aviation Sciences Center located at the Beaver County airport, and the Washington County Center at Southpointe Industrial Park in Canonsburg, PA.

With a staff of five vice presidents and a total employee base of 150 full-time and over 200 part-time employees, Dr. Forrester has guided the College through a period of transformation and growth.

Dr. Forrester’s leadership and vision led to significant changes for the College and the communities it serves. Among his accomplishments are securing county sponsorship for the College, working with the Board of Trustees to obtain an increase in county funding, securing $30 million in funds to support major campus renovations, and fostering a positive image of the College within the community, state and nation which led to record enrollment increases.

Dr. Forrester holds an Ed.D. with a major in Community College Supervision, Curriculum and Instruction from Texas A & M University-Commerce. His doctoral minors are in the fields of Student Personnel Services and Sociology. He earned his B.S. and M.S. Degrees from Texas A & M University-Commerce, and his Associate in Arts Degree from Tyler (TX) Junior College.

In 2005 and in 2011, the Board of Trustees chose to recognize his leadership contributions by nominating Dr. Forrester for recognition through the Association of College Trustees (ACCT) CEO of the Year award program. Also during his presidency, the College was recognized on two different occasions by the Beaver County Chamber of Commerce as the Nonprofit Business of the Year.

He is currently sits on the Board of Directors for the Beaver County Chamber of Commerce and is a member of the Beaver Rotary Club.