The Beaver Valley Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) honored the Community College of Beaver County as their 2014 recipient of the “Gateway to Equity” award at their March 1st meeting.

AAUW PA created the Gateway to Equity award to honor individuals, groups or organizations that have shown, by action and philosophy, that they advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy or research.

“The award is in recognition of the College’s partnership with AAUW in a variety of events, the most significant of which is our hosting the annual “Girls Recognition Night,” which is designed to encourage high school aged females to pursue careers in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM),” said CCBC President Dr. Joe Forrester.

Individuals from the College who are actively involved in the events include Jan Kaminski, Dean of Academic Support Services; Melissa Denardo, Vice President for Learning and Student Success/Provost; Nancy Dickson, Vice President for Community Relations and Development; Leslie Tennant, Director of Communications; and Helen Kissick, CCBC Board of Trustees Chairperson. 

For more information about the award, visit their website


About AAUW

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research. Since 1881, AAUW has been one of the nation’s leading voices promoting education and equity for women and girls. AAUW has a nationwide network of more than 100,000 members and donors, 1,000 branches, and 500 college/university institutional partners. Since AAUW’s founding 130 years ago, members have examined and taken positions on the fundamental issues of the day — educational, social, economic, and political.